Alicja Pilarczyk

is a Polish violinist living in Basel, Switzerland. Fascinated by the interdisciplinarity of contemporary art, she has always pursued a way to collaborate and connect with people through music and performance. 

She is the founding member of the Concept Store Quartet with whom she closely works with composers, as the ensemble’s unusual instrumental setting calls for new creations and new approaches to chamber music. She also curates her individual performances which often include other branches of art, for example her solo recital ”Non-lieux”, with electronics, video mapping and sculpture, or the movement and sound project ”Soliloquy”, with Nieszka Bogusławska, premiered on a collective exhibition in Trafostacja Sztuki w Szczecinie in 2021. In December 2021 she joined the Kairos Quartett. 

Beside her usual focus, she works as a freelance violinist with Ensemble Modern Orchestra, Basel Sinfonietta, Ensemble Interface, Ensemble Neuverband or Spółdzielnia Muzyczna Contemporary Ensemble. 

An important part of her activity is devoted to teaching at the Academy of Arts in Szczecin. Previously an assistant at Experimental Music and Art in Public Space studio, recently she teaches chamber music and leads a contemporary music students ensemble. Together with other professors she initiated the process of building a new department of interdisciplinary studies where visual art and music can cross over.

Her love of theatre, dance and visual arts is reflected in several projects. In the season 2017/2018 she was a part of performance NOMOZART, premiered at Lucerne Festival, with which she successfully toured around Europe. Again in 2018, she took part in the performance ”The Past” directed and choreographed by Constanza Macras and Oscar Bianchi. In 2019 she was invited to create a performance with Berlin-based Japanese artist Leiko Ikemura, which was premiered in Kunstmuseum Basel. Recently she has been leaning towards projects which demand time and mindfulness. She collaborates with Michał Wojtarowicz, a photographer, on a stop-motion film ”Thin, Black Line”. Finally, she is preparing a premiere of a film based on the performance ”Soliloquy”, with the collective of two artists: Nieszka Bogusławska and Katherine Newton. 

As a soloist or member of ensembles she took part in festivals such as Warsaw Autumn (PL), Lucerne Festival (CH), Barnes Festival in Philadelphia (USA), Darmstadt Summer Course (DE), Wittener Musitage für Neue Kammermusik (DE), Ruhrtriennale (DE), Gaudeamus Muziekweek (NL), ManiFest (FR), cresc..! Festival (DE), Acht Brücken Festival (DE) or GLOBALE in ZKM_Kubus (DE). 

Having studied with prof. Tadeusz Gadzina, dr Patrycja Piekutowska and Bartłomiej Nizioł she holds diplomas of the music academies and universities in Szczecin, Warsaw and Bern. Between 2014 and 2015 she was a participant of International Ensemble Modern Academy in Frankfurt am Main. In 2019 she graduated from Contemporary Music Master Program at the Music Academy in Basel with Mike Svoboda and Marcus Weiss.

Beside performing and promoting music of XX and XXI century she finds her balance in the classical world. In May 2019 she became a member of Zürcher Symphoniker and performs with them regularly at the Tonhalle. You'll find her own website here.

Alicja Pilarczyk

stammt aus Polen und lebt in Basel. Fasziniert von der Interdisziplinarität der zeitgenössischen Kunst, hat sie immer nach einem Weg gesucht, Menschen durch Musik und Performance zu faszinieren und mit ihnen in Kontakt zu treten.

Sie ist Gründungsmitglied des Concept Store Quartetts, mit dem sie eng mit Komponisten zusammenarbeitet, da die ungewöhnliche Besetzung des Ensembles neue Kreationen und einen neuen Zugang zur Kammermusik erfordert. Sie kuratiert auch ihre individuellen Aufführungen, die oft andere Kunstsparten einbeziehen, wie z. B. ihr Solo-Recital "Non-lieux" mit Elektronik, Videomapping und Skulptur oder ein Bewegungs- und Klangprojekt "Soliloquy" mit Nieszka Bogusławska, das 2021 in einer Gemeinschaftsausstellung in Trafostacja Sztuki w Szczecinie uraufgeführt wird. Seit Dezember 2021 ist sie Mitglied des Kairos Quartetts. 

Daneben arbeitet sie als freischaffende Geigerin mit dem Ensemble Modern Orchestra, der Basel Sinfonietta, dem Ensemble Interface, dem Ensemble Neuverband oder dem Spółdzielnia Muzyczna Contemporary Ensemble. 

Ein wichtiger Teil ihrer Tätigkeit ist der Lehrtätigkeit an der Akademie der Künste in Szczecin gewidmet. Früher war sie Assistentin im Studio für experimentelle Musik und Kunst im öffentlichen Raum, seit kurzem unterrichtet sie Kammermusik und leitet ein Studentenensemble für zeitgenössische Musik. Zusammen mit anderen Professoren hat sie den Aufbau eines neuen Fachbereichs für interdisziplinäre Studien initiiert, in dem sich bildende Kunst und Musik überschneiden können.

Ihre Liebe zu Theater, Tanz und bildender Kunst spiegelt sich in verschiedenen Projekten wider. In der Saison 2017/2018 war sie Teil der Performance NOMOZART, die am Luzern Festival uraufgeführt wurde und mit der sie erfolgreich durch Europa tourte. Auch 2018 nahm sie an der Performance "The Past" teil, die von Constanza Macras und Oscar Bianchi inszeniert und choreografiert wurde. 2019 wurde sie eingeladen, eine Performance mit der in Berlin lebenden japanischen Künstlerin Leiko Ikemura zu kreieren, die im Kunstmuseum Basel uraufgeführt wurde. In letzter Zeit neigt sie zu Projekten, die Zeit und Achtsamkeit erfordern. Mit dem Fotografen Michał Wojtarowicz arbeitet sie an einem Stop-Motion-Film "Thin, Black Line". Und schließlich bereitet sie mit dem Kollektiv zweier Künstlerinnen die Premiere eines Films vor, der auf der Performance "Soliloquy" basiert: Nieszka Bogusławska und Katherine Newton. 

Als Solistin oder Mitglied von Ensembles nahm sie an Festivals wie dem Warschauer Herbst (PL), dem Lucerne Festival (CH), dem Barnes Festival in Philadelphia (USA), den Darmstädter Ferienkursen (DE), den Wittener Musiktagen für Neue Kammermusik (DE), der Ruhrtriennale (DE), der Gaudeamus Muziekweek (NL), dem ManiFest (FR), dem cresc..! Festival (DE), Acht Brücken Festival (DE) oder GLOBALE im ZKM_Kubus (DE). 

Sie studierte bei Prof. Tadeusz Gadzina, Dr. Patrycja Piekutowska und Bartłomiej Nizioł hat sie Diplome der Musikhochschulen und Universitäten in Szczecin, Warschau und Bern. Zwischen 2014 und 2015 war sie Teilnehmerin der Internationalen Ensemble Modern Akademie in Frankfurt am Main. 2019 schloss sie das Masterprogramm für zeitgenössische Musik an der Musikakademie Basel bei Mike Svoboda und Marcus Weiss ab.

Neben der Aufführung und Förderung von Musik des XX und XXI Jahrhunderts findet sie ihren Ausgleich in der klassischen Welt. Seit Mai 2019 ist sie Mitglied der Zürcher Symphoniker und tritt mit ihnen regelmässig in der Tonhalle Zürich auf. Ihre eigene Website ist hier zu finden.

 

Alicja ist seit Dezember 2021 Mitglied des Kairos Quartetts.