Wolfgang Bender

grew up in Cologne, London, Warsaw, and Berlin. He studied violin with B. Hartog and E. Fischer, chamber music with C. Poppen as well as piano/improvisation with W. Norris in Berlin and Detmold (Germany).

For a few years he played in the Kammerakademie Neuss and the Kammerphilharmonie Amadé; these days he serves in a number of chamber orchestras, also as concert master, such as Deutsches Kammerorchester, Kammerorchester Carl Philipp Emanuel Bach, Chamber Orchestra of the Komische Oper Berlin, Neues Kammerorchester Potsdam.

As a stage musician he has worked for a long time at the Schillertheater and the Schaubühne (both in Berlin) with some of the most well-known theater directors of the day: P. Stein, L. Bondy, and others.

As a composer and improviser he partners actress B. Kommerell in (scenic) readings and contributed pop songs and keyboard playing to live acts of the performance artists M. Strack and J. Lorbeer.

Aside the Kairos Quartet he also performs contemporary music with the Ensemble Mosaik, as a member of the European Music Project and with the Ensemble Modern.

wb [at] kairosquartett [dot] de

Wolfgang Bender

wuchs in Köln, London, Warschau und Berlin auf.

Violinunterricht bei Wolfgang Herzfeld, Studium bei Bernhard Hartog  und Prof. Eckhardt Fischer; Kammermusik bei Prof. Christoph Poppen (Cherubini Quartett) sowie Klavier/Improvisation bei Walter Norris in Berlin und Detmold.

Er spielte einige Jahre in der Kammerphilharmonie Amadé (Frieder Obstfeld), der Kammerakademie Neuss (Johannes Goritzki), als Gast im Ensemble Oriol und der Kammerakademie Potsdam.

Heute ist er Konzertmeister der Berliner Symphoniker bei den Opernprojekten mit Christoph Hagel und wirkt  im Orchester der Komischen Oper und in verschiedenen Kammerorchestern mit: Kammerorchester Carl Philipp Emanuel Bach, Deutsches Kammerorchester, Neues Kammerorchester Potsdam und Kammerorchester Berlin (Kathrin Scholz).

Als Bühnenmusiker arbeitete er lange an der Berliner Schaubühne (Peter Stein, Luc Bondy) und am Schillertheater.

Er spielt im Ensemble Mosaik, im European Music Project, in der Musikfabrik Köln und im Ensemble Modern.

Als Komponist und Improvisator ist er Partner bei Lesungen der Schauspielerin Blanche Kommerell u.a. im Maxim Gorki Theater, im Literaturhaus Berlin und am Teamtheater München. Bei Aufführungen der Performance-Künstler Maren Strack und Johan Lorbeer wirkte er als Pop-Komponist und Keyboarder in Berlin und München.

Im Kairos Quartett fungiert er seit Gründung des Ensembles zunächst lange Zeit als Geiger, zwischenzeitlich auch als Mitglied des Managements.